May 12, 2014

For Immediate Release                                                

Contact: Gigi Thompson Jarvis

202.822.6232, x119                                   

download a Word version of this press release

National Association of Enrolled Agents Installs 2014 - 2015 Board

Washington, D.C., May 12, 2014—The National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA), the organization that represents over 49,000 federally-licensed tax practitioners, has announced the installation of its 2014-2015 board of directors. The board members are: President Lonnie Gary, EA, USTCP of Mountain View, CA; President-Elect Terry Durkin, EA of Burlington, MA; Secretary/Treasurer Laurie Ziegler, EA of Saukville, WI; Director James Adelman, EA of Tulsa, OK; Director Jerry Gaddis, EA, of Key Largo, FL; Director Michael Fioritto, EA, CPA, of Oregon, OH; Director Jean Nelsen, EA, of San Francisco, CA; Director Jeffrey Schneider, EA, of Port St. Lucie, FL; and Director Craig Smith, EA, USTCP, of Newport Beach, CA. Betsey Buckingham, EA of Troy, OH moved from the presidency into the immediate past president position.

“The incoming board is committed to working with IRS to improve its proposal to create a voluntary return preparer program in time for the 2015 filing season,” said NAEA Executive Vice President Michael S. Nelson, CAE. “Our long-held position on return preparer oversight has been that a meaningful program must provide taxpayers with assurance that a preparer has demonstrated competency through testing and is required to keep up with the changing tax environment through continuing education. This formidable board of America’s tax experts is up to the task of working with policymakers to safeguard taxpayers from ignorant or incompetent return preparers.”

The board members met in the Washington, DC, area May 7-10, where they attended the NAEA Board of Directors and state affiliate leadership meetings and the “Fly-In” day, where members met with their elected officials to advocate for sound tax policy. Some highlights of these May meetings were addresses from IRS Commissioner John Koskinen and IRS Office of Professional Responsibility Director Karen Hawkins, and the board’s swearing in by NAEA Past President Kirby Robinson, EA. During the Saturday board meeting, Victoria McGinn, EA, CPA, of Holtville, NY was elected by the board to fill a vacant director position.

NAEA is the membership society of tax professionals who provide tax preparation, representation, tax planning and other financial services to millions of individual and business taxpayers. Enrolled agents (EAs) are the only federally-licensed tax practitioners who specialize in taxation and also have unlimited rights to represent taxpayers before the IRS – they’re America’s tax experts®. Members of NAEA must fulfill continuing professional education requirements that exceed the IRS’ requirements and adhere to a code of ethics and professional conduct. For more information on enrolled agents, or to find one in your community, go to the “Find an EA” directory at 

Thomson Reuters_Quickfinder