August 2, 2018

New York Assemblyman William Magnarelli Among Awardees

Washington, DC —The National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA) has honored eight outstanding individuals with 2018 NAEA Awards in recognition of their significant contributions to the association and the enrolled agent profession. The winners were announced during the annual awards ceremony at the 2018 NAEA National Conference (#NAEANatCon) last night in Las Vegas. Among those honored was New York Assemblyman, William Magnarelli. Mr. Magnarelli received the Outstanding Supporter of Enrolled Agents Award for his continued efforts to introduce and sponsor legislation to protect and promote the enrolled agent credential in New York.

Seven other award winners were also recognized at the event. Those honored included the following:

The Founders Award was presented to James Adelman, EA, of Tulsa, Oklahoma in recognition of his significant contributions and service to NAEA and its members exemplifying the principles and goals envisioned by NAEA’s founders. This lifetime achievement award is the association’s highest recognition.

Frank Degen, EA, USTCP, of Setauket, New York, was awarded the Excellence in Education Award in recognition of the outstanding tax education classes he teaches around the country and for his efforts to improve the quality and scope of NAEA’s education programs.

The Lee T. Byrd, Jr. Outstanding Volunteer Award was presented to William Nemeth, EA, of Atlanta, Georgia, in recognition of his exemplary volunteer service on behalf of NAEA as well as his support to numerous committees.

David Fogel, EA, of Roseville, California, received the Enrolled Agent Mentor of the Year Award for his encouragement and support of fellow enrolled agents. Mr. Fogel was recognized by his fellow EAs for sharing so generously, his encyclopedic tax knowledge via posts to the NAEA WebBoard, an online forum where members can tap into a wealth of information on industry best practices and get answers to specific tax questions.

Tracey Ann Gordineer, EA, of Oakwood, Georgia, was honored with the Emerging Leader Award for the considerable impact she has had on NAEA in her first year as a member. Ms. Gordineer is already an officer at the affiliate level and a member of the NAEA Membership Committee.

Vickie Ferrantello, EA, of Dallas, Texas, received the Bill Payne Advocacy Award for her strong commitment to advocacy on behalf of enrolled agents at both the state and national level. Her efforts to promote the NAEA Political Action Committee in her home state have borne fruit, as evidenced by the fact that Texas consistently ranks among the PAC top donor states.

Finally, Jerry Gaddis, EA, of Key Largo, Florida, received the Excellence in Public Awareness Award for his efforts to drive greater public awareness and recognition of enrolled agents. His Twitter feed (@TropicalTax) is regularly included among the Forbes list of the “100 Must-Follow Tax Twitter Accounts.

“NAEA Award winners are selected by fellow enrolled agents, a diverse group of federally licensed tax professionals who both specialize in taxation and have unlimited rights to represent taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service,” said NAEA President Jean Nelsen, EA. “Those honored with NAEA Awards truly have been chosen by and from among America’s tax experts.”