July 30, 2019

Contact: Janelle Julien
Tel: (202) 822-0729


Former Deputy Commissioner and Acting Commissioner of NYS Department of Taxation and Finance Nonie Manion Among Awardees.


Washington, DC — The National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA), the organization that represents more than 55,000 federally-licensed tax professionals, has honored seven outstanding individuals with 2019 NAEA Awards in recognition of their significant contributions to the association and the enrolled agent profession. The winners were announced during the annual awards ceremony at the 2019 NAEA National Conference (#NATCON2019) last night in Las Vegas. Among those honored was former Deputy Commissioner and Acting Commissioner of NYS Department of Taxation and Finance, Nonie Manion. Ms. Manion received the Outstanding Supporter of Enrolled Agents Award for her continued efforts to protect and promote the enrolled agent credential in New York.

Six other award winners were also recognized at the event. Those honored included the following:

The Founders Award was presented to Alan Pinck, EA, of San Jose, California, in recognition of his professionalism, knowledge of taxes and representation, and willingness to share and support his fellow enrolled agents as an educator, moderator, and leader. This lifetime achievement award is the association’s highest recognition.

Thomas Gorczynski, EA, USTCP, of Phoenix, Arizona, was awarded the Excellence in Education Award as has he tirelessly educated fellow members about the complexity of §199A and the inspiration he has been to those around him to improve their craft.

The Lee T. Byrd, Jr. Outstanding Volunteer Award was presented to Bernadette Antonelli, EA, of Kearny, New Jersey, in recognition of her exemplary volunteer service on behalf of NAEA as well as her work on the NAEA Affiliate Council.

Raven Deerwater, EA, of Mendocino, California, received the Enrolled Agent Mentor of the Year Award for his development of emerging leaders at the affiliate and national levels. Mr. Deerwater was recognized by his fellow enrolled agents for his work as a selfless leader, facilitator, and mentor.

Janet Vick, EA, of Reno, Nevada, received the Bill Payne Advocacy Award for her strong commitment to advocacy on behalf of enrolled agents at both the state and national level. She mobilized the Nevada Society of Enrolled Agents to fight legislation that threatened Nevada enrolled agents’ ability to practice in the state. Finally,

Trish Evenstad, EA, of Westby, Wisconsin, received the Excellence in Public Awareness Award for her efforts to drive greater public awareness and recognition of enrolled agents. She helped develop the policy on social media etiquette for NAEA.

“The NAEA Awards were created to recognize and show our appreciation to volunteers who have gone above and beyond in their support of NAEA,” said NAEA President Jerry Gaddis, EA. “These leaders have given generously of their time, talent, and resources to promote enrolled agents at the local, state, and national levels.”


About the National Association of Enrolled Agents

The National Association of Enrolled Agents (NAEA) has been powering enrolled agents, America’s tax experts®, for more than 45 years. NAEA is a non-profit membership organization composed of tax specialists licensed by the U.S. Treasury Department. NAEA provides the networking, educational opportunities, programs and services that enable enrolled agents and other tax professionals to excel beyond their peers. Enrolled agents are the only federally-licensed tax practitioners who both specialize in taxation and have unlimited rights to represent taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service. To find out more, visit www.naea.org and follow NAEA on Facebook and Twitter.